Hello guys!
I hope you enjoy every single review, as much as I enjoy writing them.

Thursday, July 2, 2015

Famous Last Words

Posted by Book Hooked at 9:31 AM 0 comments Links to this post
20894023


Title: Famous Last Words
Author: Katie Alender
Release Date: September 30th 2014
Pages: 320
Genre(s): Romance, Horror, Thriller,
Paranormal, Fiction, Thriller, Mystery, YA
Publisher: Point
Source: Bought

Synopsis:


"Hollywood history, mystery, murder, mayhem, and delicious romance collide in this unputdownable thriller from master storyteller Katie Alender.Willa is freaking out. It seems like she's seeing things. Like a dead body in her swimming pool. Frantic messages on her walls. A reflection that is not her own. It's almost as if someone -- or something -- is trying to send her a message.Meanwhile, a killer is stalking Los Angeles -- a killer who reenacts famous movie murder scenes. Could Willa's strange visions have to do with these unsolved murders? Or is she going crazy? And who can she confide in? There's Marnie, her new friend who may not be totally trustworthy. And there's Reed, who's ridiculously handsome and seems to get Willa. There's also Wyatt, who's super smart but unhealthily obsessed with the Hollywood Killer.All Willa knows is, she has to confront the possible-ghost in her house, or she just might lose her mind . . . or her life.Acclaimed author Katie Alender puts an unforgettable twist on this spine-chilling tale of murder, mystery, mayhem -- and the movies." (Taken from; Good Reads)


Review:

Willa and her mom move to Los Angeles with her new Stepfather. In her new house, she starts having strange visions, like dead bodies in the pool and messages in the walls. Meanwhile, someone is reenacting famous movie murder scenes. She thinks she is going crazy and believes that she has to tell someone about it, but her only options are; Marnie, a new friend that she doesn't trust completely, Reed, her stepfather's assistant who seems to understand how she feels, and Wyatt, a really smart guy who has a deleterious obsession with the "Hollywood Killer". The question is; Can her visions be connected to all of this murders?

You won't be able to put "Famous Last Words" down until you know what happens. There was a time were my heart kept beating uncontrollably fast. This book is wonderful. It has everything you need; mystery, drama, romance, comedy, sarcasm, and much more. 

The characters were all amazing but my personal favorite was Wyatt. He reminded me of David Stark from "Rebel Belle" by Rachel Hawkins, which is a great thing. He was cute in a quirky way, respectful and smart. What else can you ask for?

If you are in the mood for a thriller/mild mystery/ romance book you should totally pick it up. I guarantee you will truly enjoy it.  




Favorite Quote(s):

"Maybe it's human nature to be drawn to the things that have hurt us the most".


"Turns out the price of freedom is being alone."


Rating:
4/5

Friday, June 26, 2015

Faking Perfect DRC

Posted by Book Hooked at 11:08 AM 0 comments Links to this post
22859815

Title: Faking Perfect
Author: Rebecca Phillips
Release Date: June 30th 2015
Publisher: Kensington
Pages: 272
Genre(s): YA, Realistic Fiction, Romance. Contemporary
Source: Netgalley



***I received this book in exchange for an honest review***



Synopsis:


"When Lexi Shaw seduced Oakfield High's resident bad boy Tyler Flynn at the beginning of senior year, he seemed perfectly okay with her rules:1. Avoid her at school.2. Keep his mouth shut about what they do together.3. Never tease her about her friend (and unrequited crush) Ben.Because with his integrity and values and golden boy looks, Ben can never find out about what she’s been doing behind closed doors with Tyler. Or that her mom’s too busy drinking and chasing losers to pay the bills. Or that Lexi’s dad hasn’t been a part of her life for the last thirteen years. But with Tyler suddenly breaking the rules, Ben asking her out, and her dad back in the picture, how long will she be able to go on faking perfect?" (Taken from; Good Reads)


Review:


Lexi is a stranger in her own life. She pretends to be the opposite of what she really is to impress Ben, the boy she thinks she will never deserve. At school, she is the definition of a perfect student and a perfect friend but at her house everything is different. Her mom is a drunk who has different men every single week, her dad isn't in the picture, and she is letting Oakfield High's bad boy and drug dealer, Tyler Flynn, sneak into her room so she can distract herself from her problems and have a little fun. For her, everything seemed to be going perfectly find until she finds her dad, Ben decides to ask her out, and Tyler starts breaking the rules they established. Can she manage to keep her charade?

I only had two problems with this book; the underdevelopment of Tyler and Lexi's relationship and how the story line seemed a little bit forced.

With that being said, Lexi's character surprised me for good. She is not your typical "good girl" cliché. The author deals with the topic of teenagers pretending to be someone they are not just to please others, fit in, or try to feel important and how it takes us apart from who we are. I'm grateful that there authors out there that are trying to help us deal with this everyday experiences and it's consequences.

"Faking Perfect" is one of those books that will surely take you out of a reading slump.


Favorite Quote(s):

"I liked numbers. They were steady and reliable. Not like letters and words, which could be misread and twisted and designed to hurt."


Rating:
3/5

Aristotle And Dante Discover The Secrets Of The Universe

Posted by Book Hooked at 6:11 AM 0 comments Links to this post
12000020



Title: Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe
Author: Benjamin Alire Saenz
Release Date: February 21, 2012
Pages: 368
Genre(s): YA, Contemporary, Realistic Fiction, GLBT
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Source: Bought


Synopsis:


"A lyrical novel about family and friendship from critically acclaimed author Benjamin Alire Sáenz.
Aristotle is an angry teen with a brother in prison. Dante is a know-it-all who has an unusual way of looking at the world. When the two meet at the swimming pool, they seem to have nothing in common. But as the loners start spending time together, they discover that they share a special friendship—the kind that changes lives and lasts a lifetime. And it is through this friendship that Ari and Dante will learn the most important truths about themselves and the kind of people they want to be." (Taken from;Good Reads)


Review:

"Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe" is a book not only about the self exploration of identity and sexuality, but a smart, compelling, and deep story that employs the different aspects of life.

The elements on this book are shown in such a rough and realistic way, written with a perfect combination of skill and care for the story, that increases, even more, the essence of the book.  

What can I say? This was a unique and poetic read. It was entertaining, well written, and mind blowing, as well. I love the way it deals with controversial and important topics. In my opinion,  this is what every book should be like.

Favorite Quote(s):

"I don't understand how you could live in a mean world and not have any of that meanness rub off on you."

"Sometimes pain was like a storm that came out of nowhere. The clearest morning could end in a downpour. Could end in lightning and thunder." 

“Why do we smile? Why do we laugh? Why do we feel alone? Why are we sad and confused? Why do we read poetry? Why do we cry when we see a painting? Why is there a riot in the heart when we love? Why do we feel shame? What is that thing in the pit of your stomach called desire?”

Rating:
4/5


Wednesday, June 17, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday #2: Emmy & Oliver

Posted by Book Hooked at 1:09 PM 0 comments Links to this post
13132816

Information: 
Title: 
Emmy & Oliver
Author: 
Robin Benway
Publisher
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication Date: 
June 23rd, 2015

Synopsis: 

"Emmy’s best friend, Oliver, reappears after being kidnapped by his father ten years ago. Emmy hopes to pick up their relationship right where it left off. Are they destined to be together? Or has fate irreparably driven them apart?Emmy just wants to be in charge of her own life.She wants to stay out late, surf her favorite beach—go anywhere without her parents’ relentless worrying. But Emmy’s parents can’t seem to let her grow up—not since the day Oliver disappeared.Oliver needs a moment to figure out his heart.He’d thought, all these years, that his dad was the good guy. He never knew that it was his father who kidnapped him and kept him on the run. Discovering it, and finding himself returned to his old hometown, all at once, has his heart racing and his thoughts swirling.Emmy and Oliver were going to be best friends forever, or maybe even more, before their futures were ripped apart. In Emmy’s soul, despite the space and time between them, their connection has never been severed. But is their story still written in the stars? Or are their hearts like the pieces of two different puzzles—impossible to fit together?Readers who love Sarah Dessen will tear through these pages with hearts in throats as Emmy and Oliver struggle to face the messy, confusing consequences of Oliver’s father’s crime. Full of romance, coming-of-age emotion, and heartache, these two equally compelling characters create an unforgettable story"  (Taken from;Good Reads)

Thoughts:

When I first read the synopsis for this book I was really intrigued, the idea behind the story sounds pretty amazing. I hope that it is as good as it sounds.




Waiting on Wednesday 
is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine and spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Wednesday, May 20, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday #1: P.S. I Still Love You By Jenny Han

Posted by Book Hooked at 3:02 PM 3 comments


20698530



Information: 

Title: 
P.S. I Still Love You
Author: 
Jenny Han
Publisher
Simon & Schuster
 Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: 
May 26th, 2015


Synopsis: 

"Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter.

She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever.
When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once?


In this charming and heartfelt sequel to the New York Times bestseller To All the Boys I've Loved Before, we see first love through the eyes of the unforgettable Lara Jean. Love is never easy, but maybe that’s part of what makes it so amazing" (Taken from;Good Reads


Thoughts:

I've been waiting for this book since I finished reading "To All The Boys I've Loved Before". I just hope it is as good as the first book. 





Waiting on Wednesday 
is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine and spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.


Tuesday, May 19, 2015

Winger

Posted by Book Hooked at 2:46 PM 0 comments
11861815


Synopsis:



"Ryan Dean West is a fourteen-year-old junior at a boarding school for rich kids in the Pacific Northwest. He’s living in Opportunity Hall, the dorm for troublemakers, and rooming with the biggest bully on the rugby team. And he’s madly in love with his best friend Annie, who thinks of him as a little boy.
With the help of his sense of humor, rugby buddies, and his penchant for doodling comics, Ryan Dean manages to survive life’s complications and even find some happiness along the way. But when the unthinkable happens, he has to figure out how to hold on to what’s important, even when it feels like everything has fallen apart.
Filled with hand-drawn info-graphics and illustrations and told in a pitch-perfect voice, this realistic depiction of a teen’s experience strikes an exceptional balance of hilarious and heartbreaking. " (Taken from; Good Reads)



Review: 


Andrew Smith is a genius. I know that I will love every single one of his books before I pick them up. He has a distinct and powerful way of writing that truly compels me. Somehow he manages to elaborate this rare and wonderful ideas and creates something incredible and significant to the readers. Therefore, I shouldn't be surprised of how much I loved Winger.

Winger is now one of my favorite books. I don't really want to say much about the book per se because I'm scared of spoiling even the tiniest detail. I'm just going to say that this book is a perfect and well developed piece of art. The characters, the plot, the dialogue, and comics are simply amazing. Honestly, I can't wait to get my hands on the second book. 

If you haven't read it let me tell you that you are missing a wonderful story. 

Rating:

5/5



Monday, May 18, 2015

Very Bad Things

Posted by Book Hooked at 5:33 PM 0 comments

18607200



                           Synopsis:

"Katie never thought she'd be the girl with the popular boyfriend. She also never thought he would cheat on her-but the proof is in the photo that people at their boarding school can't stop talking about. Mark swears he doesn't remember anything. But Rose, the girl in the photo, is missing, and Mark is in big trouble. Because it looks like Rose isn't just gone…she's dead.

Maybe Mark was stupid, but that doesn't mean he's a killer.

Katie needs to find out what really happened, and her digging turns up more than she bargained for, not just about Mark but about someone she loves like a sister: Tessa, her best friend. At Whitney Prep, it's easy to keep secrets…especially the cold-blooded kind." (Taken from;Good Reads)


                                      Review:

 Katie thinks she has the perfect relationship with her boyfriend, Mark, until she sees a compromising picture of him with another girl. But that's not it, the girl in the picture, Rose, is dead and Mark is a suspect. She is pretty sure that Mark isn't Rose's killer and very focused on finding out what really happened, even if that means discovering things that will change everything.

"Very Bad Things" has a creepy-thriller feeling to it, which makes it a an easy but tense read. This is something that I really enjoy in a book. The plot was really amazing and well developed. Same goes to the characters. I really loved all of them, but Tessa's was my favorite. Susan McBride made an excellent job with this character. Her story and everything that we get to see about her is just... wow. 

Anyways, I really enjoyed reading this book. It wasn't perfect but it was really entertaining and well written. I encourage every single one of you to pick it up and give it a try. If you do let me know what you think. 



Rating:

3/5































Tuesday, April 21, 2015

LIEBSTER Award

Posted by Book Hooked at 3:10 PM 2 comments
liebster-award-logo1




The Liebster award is a chain award that was created by bloggers and is a tradition to make new friends in the blogging community.
I want to thank The Book Jar Blog for nominating me.  
——————————————————---------------------------------------
Rules

Link back to the person who nominated you
Give 11 random facts about yourself
Answer 11 questions from your nominator
Nominate 11 new and obscure bloggers
Come up with 11 questions for them to answer
Inform your nominees

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

Random Facts About Me

1. I, of course, love reading.
2. I don't have space left in any of my bookshelves.
3.  I am 16.
4. Every single one of my friends likes to read.
5.  I wish I were better at writing reviews.
6. I'm still in High School. 
7.  I currently have 188 followers on Instagram.
8. My favorite T.V. Series are Gossip Girl, Skins, Bates Motel, and The Royals.
9. I love music.
10. Some of my favorite artists are; "The Cab", "Arctic Monkeys", "Panic at the Disco", and Ben Howard.
11. I still don't know what to study or do after graduating from High School.
_________________________________________________________________________________

Questions I was asked:
-If you could meet one character who would it be and why?
I would have to go with Jason from "Meant To Be" because of his realism. What’s your favorite bookstore?
-Barnes & NobleWhere do you enjoy reading the most?
-On the beacheBook or physical copy?
-Physical CopyDo you like books on tape?
-It depends on the genre of the book.
If you could have ask any author one question, what would it be?
What was the worst fictional death?
-Celeste's in "The Selection Series"Do you often prefer the movie or the book?
-BookWhat are you currently reading?
-We all looked up by Tommy Wallach
If you could have any book (books not yet published can be considered), what would it be?
-Stand-Off by Andrew SmithWhere do you read?
-Mostly in my bed or in my backyard. 


_________________________________________________________________________________
Blogs I nominate:

1. Jenna-Jinkiesbooks
2. Anna- Enchanted by YA
3. Eduardo- BoomingBooks
4.  Jemma Hammond- MyLittleBookishCorner
5. Lola- HitOrMissBooks
6. Leanne Writes Stuff- AllWriteThen
7. Olivia- LivTheBookNerd
8. Danna- AReadingHabit
9. Angelique-AngReads
1o. Ellen & Tamara- YABookishNews
11. BookishRandomZ

_________________________________________________________________________________
Questions for the blogs:

1. Which book are you highly anticipating?
2. Have you ever stayed up all night to finish a book?
3. Which is your favorite series?
4. What is your favorite type of food?
5. Which are your favorite T.V. series?
6. Which genre of music do you listen to?
7. Which fictional character do you hate the most and why?
8. Which fictional character do you love the most and why?
9. Have you ever heard of Ben Howard?
10. Favorite Book Cover?
11. Birth Month?

Wednesday, April 8, 2015

Famous in love

Posted by Book Hooked at 3:30 PM 0 comments
19245811


Synopsis:

"The romantic story of a girl who gets plucked from obscurity to star in the next major feature film franchise based on a book and the ensuing love triangles she gets entangled in on—-and off screen. 

Meet Paige Townsen, Rainer Devon, and Jordan Wilder…

When Paige Townsen, a young unknown, gets cast in the movie adaptation of a blockbuster book series, her life changes practically overnight. Within a month, Paige has traded the quiet streets of her hometown for a crowded movie set on the shores of Maui, and is spending quality time with her co-star Rainer Devon, one of People’s Sexiest Men Alive. But when troubled star Jordan Wilder lands the role of the other point in the movie’s famous love triangle, Paige’s crazy new life gets even crazier.

In this coming-of-age romance inspired by the kind of celeb hookups that get clever nicknames and a million page views, Paige must figure out who she is – and who she wants – while the whole world watches." (Taken from; Good Reads)


Review:

Paige's dream is to become an actress, something that results difficult, given the fact that she lives in a small town in Portland. But when one of the auditions for a movie based on a Best-Selling book are held in her town, everything seems to be possible. After getting the lead role in the movie she says goodbye to her family and best friends; Jake and Cassandra to pursue her dreams. 

Now she is in Hawaii filming the movie with Rainer Devon, a famous, funny, and really good looking actor, Wyatt, a perfectionist director, and a lot more of crew members. Even though she keeps doubting herself when filming, everything else seems to be going smoothly. She is developing a crush on Rainer and he seems to be flirting with her. Plus, people are starting to recognize her. That's until Jason, a mysterious, good looking actor, who seems to have big problems with Rainer, gets a role in the movie. Now, with Jason on the picture, things start to get tense and Paige finds herself confused and over thinking every detail of her life. 

With a brain full of non stop thoughts, she finds herself having to make a difficult decision. 

What to say? What to say? 

I'll start by saying that this book was an amazing read. I liked the whole idea behind in and how well developed it is.  Setting this book in Hawaii was an incredible idea, the "tropicana" aspect gave me a better picture of the story.

On to the characters...  I really enjoyed every aspect of Paige. She is the kind of character that you wish could be real. Rainer's and Jason's characters were really cute and special in their own ways. I really loved them both. But there was something  missing in Rainer's character. I'm still not sure of what it is, but I hope I can figure it out really soon. 

I can't wait to read the second book and see what happens, especially between Rainer and Jason.


Rating:

4/5

Monday, April 6, 2015

Girl Online

Posted by Book Hooked at 3:17 PM 0 comments
22510983


Synopsis:

"I had no idea GirlOnline would take off the way it has - I can't believe I now have 5432 followers, thanks so much! - and the thought of opening up to you all about this is terrifying, but here goes...


Penny has a secret.



Under the alias GirlOnline, she blogs about school dramas, boys, her mad, whirlwind family - and the panic attacks she's suffered from lately. When things go from bad to worse, her family whisks her away to New York, where she meets the gorgeous, guitar-strumming Noah. Suddenly Penny is falling in love - and capturing every moment of it on her blog.



But Noah has a secret too. One that threatens to ruin Penny's cover - and her closest friendship - forever." (Taken from; Good Reads)


Review:


Penny is a clumsy girl suffering from panic attacks and high school embarrassments. She lets out all of her feelings on her anonymous blog; "Girl Online". On the other hand, her parents business isn't doing so well so when a couple from New York asks them to plan their wedding they have to take the opportunity. Pen is not so sure that going to new York is a good idea (given her panic attack). But when a horrible video of her is posted in the internet, she sees this as an opportunity to get away form it. After getting over her fear of flying, with the help of Elliot, her gay best friend everything seems to be extraordinary.

New York is better than she could have imagine and the hotel she is staying in is to die for. Then she meets Noah and everything goes from extraordinary to perfect. Noah... well, he understand Penny like no one else and he helps her face her fears in less than a week.

It's like a fairy tale. But then the alien pigs come and now that her mom's job is over she needs to get back to her home. There, she discovers that Noah is hiding something from her, something that could ruin everything. 

Girl online is one of those books that you just can't put down. Believe me, I tried but it was impossible.  This was a fast and enjoyable read, just what I needed. 

The characters were all really developed. Penny's character  is really easy to identify with, which makes you love her even more. Zoella made an exceptional job at bringing an essential part to every single character, including the amazing Tom  (Penny's brother).

Rating:

4/5

Review Policy

Posted by Book Hooked at 2:49 PM 0 comments
*I'm currently accepting review copies*

  If you are an author or publisher and would like for me to review your book, know that I would be delighted and appreciative to do so. I only ask that you take into consideration that it fits the genres listed below. I normally post my reviews here on my blog, on twitter, and good reads. All of this in approximately 10-15 days after having accepted the review request. As for the formats, I accept physical copies (Preferably) and eBooks through NetGalley and Edwelweiss.
I am also available for hosting and participating in blog tours as long as the book fits into any of the categories listed below.
If interested please contact me at: bookhookedreviews@gmail.com

Accepted genres:
  •  Young Adult
  1. Contemporary
  2. Romance
  3. Fantasy
  4. Sci-Fi/ Dystopian
  5. Mystery/Thriller
  6. Paranormal
  7. Steam-punk
  8. LGBT
  • New Adult
  1. Chick-lit
  2. Contemporary Romance
  3. Thriller/Suspense
  4. Mystery/Crime

Genres not accepted:
  • Non-fiction
  • Memoirs
  • Erotica


Thank You.





Sunday, April 5, 2015

Update Post

Posted by Book Hooked at 3:36 PM 2 comments
Hello everyone,

  I'm writing this with a level of frustration that I thought impossible. I promise to tell you why but not right away because you'll probably get really confused.

  I just got home from a family "Spring Break Vacation" where I was strictly prohibited to take my laptop and iPad (don't ask me why), thankfully I was allowed to bring my phone with me. This is the reason why I haven't posted anything this past few weeks. Believe me when I say that I'm very sorry for it.

Why am I so frustrated?

  Well, I turned on my laptop with an incredible amount of excitement. After checking my email I decided to see how was my giveaway doing. I logged on to my Rafflecopter account to discover that my giveaway had mysteriously disappeared from my profile. I got really panicked and went to my blog. When I opened the giveaway post I saw the box with the possible entries loading and I felt relieved. The feeling didn't last long because when it finished loading I saw a message that said "This contest is no longer accepting entries" which is really strange because the giveaway was supposed to end tomorrow (April 6, 2015).  But that's not all, it says that there only 16 entries which is impossible because there were about 300 entries before I left. After taking a deep breath I sent an email to Rafflecopter explaining what happened and now I'm writing this post explaining it to you.

  There are no words that can express how I am feeling. I know that I let you guys down and I'm truly sorry for that. I still don't know what I'm going to do with the giveaway. If I get all the entries back everything will proceed as it was supposed to. If not, I suppose I'm going to start a new giveaway (probably a better one to make it up to you guys) because I want it to be fair and I think that selecting a winner without the entries will go against that.

  I hope that every single one of you will understand this and accept my apologies.



Thank You


Monday, March 16, 2015

Giveaway: Win a copy of "Red Queen" by Victoria Aveyard

Posted by Book Hooked at 3:58 AM 13 comments
17878931



Giveaway Rules:
  • This giveaway is international!
  • Giveaway will run 20 days and will end on April 6.
  • You have to be 18 or at least 13 years-old and have your parents or guardian's permission since I will be needing your address! (This address won’t be shared with anyone)
  • There will only be one winner.
  • The winner will be announced here and on my twitter!
  • The winner will have 48 hours to respond or I will choose another winner.
  • Entries that don't follow instructions correspondingly will be disqualified.

Good Luck!



a Rafflecopter giveaway
 

Book Hooked Reviews Template by Ipietoon Blogger Template | Gadget Review