Hello guys!
I hope you enjoy every single review, as much as I enjoy writing them.

Thursday, July 2, 2015

Famous Last Words

Posted by Book Hooked at 9:31 AM 0 comments Links to this post
20894023


Title: Famous Last Words
Author: Katie Alender
Release Date: September 30th 2014
Pages: 320
Genre(s): Romance, Horror, Thriller,
Paranormal, Fiction, Thriller, Mystery, YA
Publisher: Point
Source: Bought

Synopsis:


"Hollywood history, mystery, murder, mayhem, and delicious romance collide in this unputdownable thriller from master storyteller Katie Alender.Willa is freaking out. It seems like she's seeing things. Like a dead body in her swimming pool. Frantic messages on her walls. A reflection that is not her own. It's almost as if someone -- or something -- is trying to send her a message.Meanwhile, a killer is stalking Los Angeles -- a killer who reenacts famous movie murder scenes. Could Willa's strange visions have to do with these unsolved murders? Or is she going crazy? And who can she confide in? There's Marnie, her new friend who may not be totally trustworthy. And there's Reed, who's ridiculously handsome and seems to get Willa. There's also Wyatt, who's super smart but unhealthily obsessed with the Hollywood Killer.All Willa knows is, she has to confront the possible-ghost in her house, or she just might lose her mind . . . or her life.Acclaimed author Katie Alender puts an unforgettable twist on this spine-chilling tale of murder, mystery, mayhem -- and the movies." (Taken from; Good Reads)


Review:

Willa and her mom move to Los Angeles with her new Stepfather. In her new house, she starts having strange visions, like dead bodies in the pool and messages in the walls. Meanwhile, someone is reenacting famous movie murder scenes. She thinks she is going crazy and believes that she has to tell someone about it, but her only options are; Marnie, a new friend that she doesn't trust completely, Reed, her stepfather's assistant who seems to understand how she feels, and Wyatt, a really smart guy who has a deleterious obsession with the "Hollywood Killer". The question is; Can her visions be connected to all of this murders?

You won't be able to put "Famous Last Words" down until you know what happens. There was a time were my heart kept beating uncontrollably fast. This book is wonderful. It has everything you need; mystery, drama, romance, comedy, sarcasm, and much more. 

The characters were all amazing but my personal favorite was Wyatt. He reminded me of David Stark from "Rebel Belle" by Rachel Hawkins, which is a great thing. He was cute in a quirky way, respectful and smart. What else can you ask for?

If you are in the mood for a thriller/mild mystery/ romance book you should totally pick it up. I guarantee you will truly enjoy it.  




Favorite Quote(s):

"Maybe it's human nature to be drawn to the things that have hurt us the most".


"Turns out the price of freedom is being alone."


Rating:
4/5

Friday, June 26, 2015

Faking Perfect DRC

Posted by Book Hooked at 11:08 AM 0 comments Links to this post
22859815

Title: Faking Perfect
Author: Rebecca Phillips
Release Date: June 30th 2015
Publisher: Kensington
Pages: 272
Genre(s): YA, Realistic Fiction, Romance. Contemporary
Source: Netgalley



***I received this book in exchange for an honest review***



Synopsis:


"When Lexi Shaw seduced Oakfield High's resident bad boy Tyler Flynn at the beginning of senior year, he seemed perfectly okay with her rules:1. Avoid her at school.2. Keep his mouth shut about what they do together.3. Never tease her about her friend (and unrequited crush) Ben.Because with his integrity and values and golden boy looks, Ben can never find out about what she’s been doing behind closed doors with Tyler. Or that her mom’s too busy drinking and chasing losers to pay the bills. Or that Lexi’s dad hasn’t been a part of her life for the last thirteen years. But with Tyler suddenly breaking the rules, Ben asking her out, and her dad back in the picture, how long will she be able to go on faking perfect?" (Taken from; Good Reads)


Review:


Lexi is a stranger in her own life. She pretends to be the opposite of what she really is to impress Ben, the boy she thinks she will never deserve. At school, she is the definition of a perfect student and a perfect friend but at her house everything is different. Her mom is a drunk who has different men every single week, her dad isn't in the picture, and she is letting Oakfield High's bad boy and drug dealer, Tyler Flynn, sneak into her room so she can distract herself from her problems and have a little fun. For her, everything seemed to be going perfectly find until she finds her dad, Ben decides to ask her out, and Tyler starts breaking the rules they established. Can she manage to keep her charade?

I only had two problems with this book; the underdevelopment of Tyler and Lexi's relationship and how the story line seemed a little bit forced.

With that being said, Lexi's character surprised me for good. She is not your typical "good girl" cliché. The author deals with the topic of teenagers pretending to be someone they are not just to please others, fit in, or try to feel important and how it takes us apart from who we are. I'm grateful that there authors out there that are trying to help us deal with this everyday experiences and it's consequences.

"Faking Perfect" is one of those books that will surely take you out of a reading slump.


Favorite Quote(s):

"I liked numbers. They were steady and reliable. Not like letters and words, which could be misread and twisted and designed to hurt."


Rating:
3/5

Aristotle And Dante Discover The Secrets Of The Universe

Posted by Book Hooked at 6:11 AM 0 comments Links to this post
12000020



Title: Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe
Author: Benjamin Alire Saenz
Release Date: February 21, 2012
Pages: 368
Genre(s): YA, Contemporary, Realistic Fiction, GLBT
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Source: Bought


Synopsis:


"A lyrical novel about family and friendship from critically acclaimed author Benjamin Alire Sáenz.
Aristotle is an angry teen with a brother in prison. Dante is a know-it-all who has an unusual way of looking at the world. When the two meet at the swimming pool, they seem to have nothing in common. But as the loners start spending time together, they discover that they share a special friendship—the kind that changes lives and lasts a lifetime. And it is through this friendship that Ari and Dante will learn the most important truths about themselves and the kind of people they want to be." (Taken from;Good Reads)


Review:

"Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe" is a book not only about the self exploration of identity and sexuality, but a smart, compelling, and deep story that employs the different aspects of life.

The elements on this book are shown in such a rough and realistic way, written with a perfect combination of skill and care for the story, that increases, even more, the essence of the book.  

What can I say? This was a unique and poetic read. It was entertaining, well written, and mind blowing, as well. I love the way it deals with controversial and important topics. In my opinion,  this is what every book should be like.

Favorite Quote(s):

"I don't understand how you could live in a mean world and not have any of that meanness rub off on you."

"Sometimes pain was like a storm that came out of nowhere. The clearest morning could end in a downpour. Could end in lightning and thunder." 

“Why do we smile? Why do we laugh? Why do we feel alone? Why are we sad and confused? Why do we read poetry? Why do we cry when we see a painting? Why is there a riot in the heart when we love? Why do we feel shame? What is that thing in the pit of your stomach called desire?”

Rating:
4/5


Wednesday, June 17, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday #2: Emmy & Oliver

Posted by Book Hooked at 1:09 PM 0 comments Links to this post
13132816

Information: 
Title: 
Emmy & Oliver
Author: 
Robin Benway
Publisher
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication Date: 
June 23rd, 2015

Synopsis: 

"Emmy’s best friend, Oliver, reappears after being kidnapped by his father ten years ago. Emmy hopes to pick up their relationship right where it left off. Are they destined to be together? Or has fate irreparably driven them apart?Emmy just wants to be in charge of her own life.She wants to stay out late, surf her favorite beach—go anywhere without her parents’ relentless worrying. But Emmy’s parents can’t seem to let her grow up—not since the day Oliver disappeared.Oliver needs a moment to figure out his heart.He’d thought, all these years, that his dad was the good guy. He never knew that it was his father who kidnapped him and kept him on the run. Discovering it, and finding himself returned to his old hometown, all at once, has his heart racing and his thoughts swirling.Emmy and Oliver were going to be best friends forever, or maybe even more, before their futures were ripped apart. In Emmy’s soul, despite the space and time between them, their connection has never been severed. But is their story still written in the stars? Or are their hearts like the pieces of two different puzzles—impossible to fit together?Readers who love Sarah Dessen will tear through these pages with hearts in throats as Emmy and Oliver struggle to face the messy, confusing consequences of Oliver’s father’s crime. Full of romance, coming-of-age emotion, and heartache, these two equally compelling characters create an unforgettable story"  (Taken from;Good Reads)

Thoughts:

When I first read the synopsis for this book I was really intrigued, the idea behind the story sounds pretty amazing. I hope that it is as good as it sounds.




Waiting on Wednesday 
is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine and spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Wednesday, May 20, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday #1: P.S. I Still Love You By Jenny Han

Posted by Book Hooked at 3:02 PM 3 comments


20698530



Information: 

Title: 
P.S. I Still Love You
Author: 
Jenny Han
Publisher
Simon & Schuster
 Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: 
May 26th, 2015


Synopsis: 

"Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter.

She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever.
When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once?


In this charming and heartfelt sequel to the New York Times bestseller To All the Boys I've Loved Before, we see first love through the eyes of the unforgettable Lara Jean. Love is never easy, but maybe that’s part of what makes it so amazing" (Taken from;Good Reads


Thoughts:

I've been waiting for this book since I finished reading "To All The Boys I've Loved Before". I just hope it is as good as the first book. 





Waiting on Wednesday 
is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine and spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.


Tuesday, May 19, 2015

Winger

Posted by Book Hooked at 2:46 PM 0 comments
11861815


Synopsis:



"Ryan Dean West is a fourteen-year-old junior at a boarding school for rich kids in the Pacific Northwest. He’s living in Opportunity Hall, the dorm for troublemakers, and rooming with the biggest bully on the rugby team. And he’s madly in love with his best friend Annie, who thinks of him as a little boy.
With the help of his sense of humor, rugby buddies, and his penchant for doodling comics, Ryan Dean manages to survive life’s complications and even find some happiness along the way. But when the unthinkable happens, he has to figure out how to hold on to what’s important, even when it feels like everything has fallen apart.
Filled with hand-drawn info-graphics and illustrations and told in a pitch-perfect voice, this realistic depiction of a teen’s experience strikes an exceptional balance of hilarious and heartbreaking. " (Taken from; Good Reads)



Review: 


Andrew Smith is a genius. I know that I will love every single one of his books before I pick them up. He has a distinct and powerful way of writing that truly compels me. Somehow he manages to elaborate this rare and wonderful ideas and creates something incredible and significant to the readers. Therefore, I shouldn't be surprised of how much I loved Winger.

Winger is now one of my favorite books. I don't really want to say much about the book per se because I'm scared of spoiling even the tiniest detail. I'm just going to say that this book is a perfect and well developed piece of art. The characters, the plot, the dialogue, and comics are simply amazing. Honestly, I can't wait to get my hands on the second book. 

If you haven't read it let me tell you that you are missing a wonderful story. 

Rating:

5/5



Monday, May 18, 2015

Very Bad Things

Posted by Book Hooked at 5:33 PM 0 comments

18607200



                           Synopsis:

"Katie never thought she'd be the girl with the popular boyfriend. She also never thought he would cheat on her-but the proof is in the photo that people at their boarding school can't stop talking about. Mark swears he doesn't remember anything. But Rose, the girl in the photo, is missing, and Mark is in big trouble. Because it looks like Rose isn't just gone…she's dead.

Maybe Mark was stupid, but that doesn't mean he's a killer.

Katie needs to find out what really happened, and her digging turns up more than she bargained for, not just about Mark but about someone she loves like a sister: Tessa, her best friend. At Whitney Prep, it's easy to keep secrets…especially the cold-blooded kind." (Taken from;Good Reads)


                                      Review:

 Katie thinks she has the perfect relationship with her boyfriend, Mark, until she sees a compromising picture of him with another girl. But that's not it, the girl in the picture, Rose, is dead and Mark is a suspect. She is pretty sure that Mark isn't Rose's killer and very focused on finding out what really happened, even if that means discovering things that will change everything.

"Very Bad Things" has a creepy-thriller feeling to it, which makes it a an easy but tense read. This is something that I really enjoy in a book. The plot was really amazing and well developed. Same goes to the characters. I really loved all of them, but Tessa's was my favorite. Susan McBride made an excellent job with this character. Her story and everything that we get to see about her is just... wow. 

Anyways, I really enjoyed reading this book. It wasn't perfect but it was really entertaining and well written. I encourage every single one of you to pick it up and give it a try. If you do let me know what you think. 



Rating:

3/5































 

Book Hooked Reviews Template by Ipietoon Blogger Template | Gadget Review